Prepare your visit

 

Prepare your visit

 

Our Lady of Chartres Cathedral, a Marion pilgrimage sanctuary, is a 12th and 13th century masterpiece of sacred art and internationally famous for its 176 stained-glass windows and 9 sculpted portals. It was the first Cathedral in France to be inscribed on the UNESCO World Heritage Sites list (1979), and offers many possibilities to discover its riches. To prepare your visit:

  • Public tours, given by the Cathedral ‘Service des Visites’ in French.
  • Group reservation with guides from the Cathedral ‘Service des Visites’ in many languages audio phone system.
  • At your own rhythm by renting a Visio guide.

Take the time for a guided tour with the Cathedral Tourist Office, for all those who – tourists or pilgrims – wish for a general discovery of the cathedral, or a more detailed guided tour on a specific theme.

Chartres Cathedral wishes you a pleasant and enriching visit of our website.

Sleeping at the foot of the Cathedral

Hôtellerie Saint-Yves

Built on the site of a priory founded in the 10th century, the Hotellerie Saint Yves welcomes you in the heart of the old town of Chartres, less than 50 meters from the cathedral: a quality accommodation in a privileged setting, a perfect mix of history and modernity…

Préparer votre visite

 

Préparer votre visite

 

Sanctuaire de pèlerinage marial, chef-d’œuvre de l’art religieux des XII° et XIII° siècles, mondialement connue pour ses 176 vitraux et 9 portails sculptés, première cathédrale de France inscrite sur la liste du patrimoine mondial (1979) par l’UNESCO, la cathédrale Notre-Dame de Chartres vous propose différentes possibilités pour découvrir sur place ses richesses et préparer votre visite :

  • au travers de visites publiques, assurées par le Service des Visites en français.
  • en groupe et sur réservation, avec les conférenciers du Service des Visites, en plusieurs langues, et confortablement grâce à notre système d’audiophones.
  • librement et à votre rythme, en louant un visioguide.

Prenez le temps d’une visite guidée avec le Service des Visites de la cathédrale, qui s’adresse à tous ceux – touristes ou pèlerins – souhaitant une découverte générale de la cathédrale, ou une visite guidée plus approfondie sur un thème particulier.

La cathédrale de Chartres vous souhaite une agréable et enrichissante visite sur son site.

Dormir au pied de la Cathédrale

Hôtellerie Saint-Yves

Édifiée sur le site d’un prieuré fondé au Xe siècle, l’Hôtellerie Saint-Yves vous accueille au cœur de la vieille ville de Chartres, au pied de la cathédrale : un hébergement de qualité dans un cadre privilégié…